Living Room Cushions Get a Facelift

It took me a while, okay, FOREVER, to get around to sewing these cushion covers. I got the fabric in September, told you about them in December, and finally sewed the pillow covers in March.  Good thing I still liked the fabric by then!

Here they are all lined up (including the world’s most adorable little photo bomber) so you can see the colors together.  I love the toned down shades with the grey couch.SONY DSC

 

Part of what took so long is that I wanted to replace the actual pillow inserts as well. When I last updated our scatter cushions, I bought  the down inserts from Ikea – at around $5 each they were a great price. However, I got to a stage where I felt that if I found one more feather in my hair after a nap on the couch, I was going to lose it.  The pillow forms also did not hold their shape well and looked a little lost on the bigger Karlstad.

SONY DSC

I found some high quality down alternative pillows from JoAnns but they are expensive without a coupon, and our JoAnns is far away.  So I did a little more research and found that the ones from Crate and Barrel are comparable in price (even without a coupon) and rated well. I also had a 15% off coupon, so I headed to the store and grabbed 5 down alternative inserts.  So far I LOVE the quality.

I also upgraded to the 23″ square size (up from the 20″ size we had from Ikea before). These pillows behave like down-filled ones, but without the allergens (or feathers in your hair!). I think the bigger size matches the scale of the couch better and looks a little more luxurious!

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Oh and a little poodle named Penelope approve too. Good thing these covers are removable and washable!

SONY DSC

 

Did you check off any projects on your to-do list this weekend? I also hemmed the living room curtains (finally) and sold our coffee table on Craigslist.

Sarah Signature

3 thoughts on “Living Room Cushions Get a Facelift

  1. Pingback: Favorite Finds: Coffee Tables | This Sarah Loves

Leave a Reply

