Yardstick Christmas Star

Christmas Yardstick Star with Christmas Lights - #thissarahloves

Last week while perusing Pinterest while watching TV, I spotted Little Bit Funky’s giant yardstick Christmas start & just knew I HAD to have one for myself.  

I grabbed 5 yardsticks from Home Depot for just 70 cents each & gave them all a coat of left-over almost-baby-blue paint.  (I painted both sides, since they started bowing after the first coat of paint).

Christmas Yardstick Star - Supplies #thissarahloves

Once everything was dry, I simply laid the yardsticks into a star pattern – be patient, it may take a while to get everything lined up just right – and hot glued the sticks together.Christmas Yardstick Star 1 - #thissarahloves Christmas Yardstick Star 2 - #thissarahloves

I wasn’t planning on adding any lights because I really liked the less than $5 price point & it looks pretty great above the wine bar!Christmas Yardstick Star - On the Wall - #thissarahloves

BUT then we received our Christmas care package from the in-laws & my mother-in-law had tucked a set of mini-lights in as if she somehow knew I’d be needing them.

Christmas Yardstick Star - with Lights #thissarahloves

I carefully wound the string of lights around the star & plugged it into the same timer we use for the Christmas tree.  Now we have double the festiveness in our wine bar corner once it gets dark outside!

Sarah Signature

Linking here: Frugal Crafty Home Blog Hop, Get your DIY on.

5 thoughts on “Yardstick Christmas Star

  1. Pingback: Frugal Crafty Home Blog Hop

  2. This is great Sarah, I made one not too long ago but didn’t put lights on it- that makes it look awesome! Thank you so much for linking up to Get Your DIY On! I hope you’ll join us on Jan 5th for our monthly theme party with your organization project!
    Mandy @ The Hankful House Blog

  3. Your star turned out great, Sarah! I love how it adds so much light to the room. Thanks for sharing this with my Frugal Crafty Home Blog Hop readers! I hope to see you back tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

