Inspired by Orange and Mint: Design Collaboration

Hi Everyone

This week I joined forces with some amazing ladies to bring you a selection of mood boards all based on the same picture. Fun right? Here’s the inspiration picture. Mint and citrus. What’s not to love?

dotdivider

Here’s my mood board.

Tangerine Hues Bedroom Mood Board

{Sarah from This Sarah Loves}

These colors inspired me to create a restful guest room mood board.

I wanted the room to have an airy feel so I used lots of white & leggy furniture pieces. I love the idea of mismatched nightstands – updating an old curvy dresser in fresh mint for one side (I just want to go steal Chelsea from Making Home Base‘s gorgeous minty dresser) and a more masculine grey desk for the other side paired with a tangerine tabouret chair. Fluffy white bedding and a mostly white & orange rug keep things fresh. Adding grey stripe sheets add some masculinity to the girly duvet, allowing all guests to feel at home.

As you might already know, I adore the Stria bed’s raw wood & I’d add some salvaged wood frames to bring nature in. Fill those same frames with bright and colorful art & add a bronze rhino (because honestly, why would you NOT want a bronze rhino in your guest room?) to add a touch of whimsy. The capiz shell drum shade would add the perfect amount of luxury (but the price is insane. Boo!)

Floral Art // Hive Vases // Mint Pillow // Gray Stripe Sheet Set // Stria Bed // Mint Night Stand // Reclaimed Frames // Orange Rug // Pintuck Duvet // New York Print // Tangerine Tabouret Chair // Grey Threshold Desk // Capiz Drum Shade // Los Angeles Print // Bronze Rhino

You can check out my Pinterest board for easy links to all the sources.

dotdivider

 

Next up is Carissa from Carissa Miss who lined up some fun kitchen accessories.

Carissa Miss Kitchen Accesories

{Carissa from CarissaMiss}: For me this picture just sang kitchen! {maybe it’s because i have mint and yellow in mine} I just had to share some of my latest loves for kitchen accessories. i’m hoping to actually get some art up on the walls in my house, so if it is a little art-heavy that’s why! after the kids’ rooms are done then i’m planning on finishing the art in our entry-way makeover, and then FINALLY i can get to decorating the rest of the kitchen. come visit carissamiss.com to see sources!

dotdivider

Lizzie from Living Pretty dreamed up a gorgeous home office

Lizzie from Living Pretty Living Room

{Lizzie from Living Pretty}: I totally indulged myself with this challenge and made myself an office space. I don’t have room for a real office in my house, but if I did it might look something like this – eclectic, fun and girly. Visit me at livingprettyblog.com for sources.

dotdivider

Samantha from Designer in Teal created a gorgeous eat-in kitchen design.

Samantha from Designer in Teal Kitchen

{Samantha from Designer in Teal}: This is hands down my favorite color combination and it fits perfectly for a kitchen setting. The sunny yellow and orange pop against the fresh mint. I also gave the kitchen and dining area a vintage industrial spin. Can’t wait to add this into my “dream home” plan!

dotdivider

Amy from The Blissful Bee created a living room with lots of geometric pattern.

Amy from The Blissful Bee Living Room

{Amy from The Blissful Bee}: There is no better match than mint and orange! I had so much fun designing my pretend living room that it seriously made me want to add these colors into my own living space.

dotdivider

What type of space would you create with these colors? Be sure to stop by these ladies blogs for their full source list.

Heart Sarah

4 thoughts on “Inspired by Orange and Mint: Design Collaboration

    • Thanks Corey! I was just invited to partake this month for the first time, but I’ll let you know if there’s an opening to join. It was fun to see all the different designs people came up with!

      xo Sarah This Sarah Loves

  1. I absolutely love this color combination! I’ve got it pinned. I always need a bit of help in the color combination department, so thanks for sharing. Now, I just need to figure out where to use it. Thanks for sharing! Enjoy your day!

    • Thanks Brooke. I definitely love using inspiration pieces (fabric, art, pictures, wrapping paper) to help me with color combinations. Glad you liked this combination. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

