Lime and Condensed Milk Fridge Tart

Happy July!  I’m assuming if you’re reading this that you manged to make the switch from Google Reader.  You can also sign up to have new posts delivered directly to your inbox by subscribing on my sidebar (to the right).  We’ve made some good progress on the Retro Stereo Cabinet but it’s not quite ready for sharing, so I thought I’d distract you with a yummy summer dessert!

Lime and Condensed Milk Fridge Tart - Closeup - #thissarahloves

Doesn’t that look yummy?!  Well it is!  And it’s easy to make too.

In the last few weeks I’ve been pinning various key lime pie recipes (like the ones below).  Even though I’ve never actually made a key lime anything.

{1, 2, 3}

I was excited when I found a recipe for a condensed milk based key lime pie.  And even more excited when The Pioneer Woman’s recipe said that she just uses regular limes!  Of course, I couldn’t just follow the recipe as it was written, so I switched it up a bit.  

Some of you may recall that I don’t eat gluten.  Now what you may not know, is that I eat gluten when I travel outside of the US and it doesn’t affect me.  Please don’t think that I’m advocating that celiac sufferers should eat gluten ever, in fact I would advocate the opposite.  However, if you have non-celiac gluten intolerance, you may want to test foreign gluten and see how you react.  Okay, so the point of this tangent was that I can’t just grab a pre-made crust from the store, so I had to come up with another solution.

My mom makes an amazing pineapple condensed milk fridge tart without a “proper” crust.  Rather than making/using a traditional crust, you just layer cookies at the bottom of the dish.  It holds together pretty well & is much easier to make.  I found some Goya Maria Cookies at our local super market (imported from Spain) which are pretty much the exact same thing as my beloved Marie biscuits from childhood.  Bonus, since they’re from Spain, I didn’t need to pay an insane amount for gluten-free cookies.

Making this crust is ridiculously simple & you can’t mess it up.  All you need to do is layer cookies along the bottom of the pie dish you’ll be using.  I did two layers, since these cookies are pretty thin.  Make sure to sprinkle them with some citrus juice to soften them up – I usually use orange, but I only had lime juice this time & it worked perfectly.  I also sprinkled a layer of coconut on top of the cookies.

Lime and Condensed Milk Fridge Tart - Crust Layer - #thissarahloves

Then just mix up half a cup of lime juice, two egg yolks, and a can of condensed milk.  You should also mix in some lime zest.  I didn’t have a lime. {And yes, that means I used lime juice from a bottle.  Gasp!  And it still tasted AMAZING!}  Mix well & pour over your cookie layer.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes, let cool & then chill for at least an hour.  Remember, it’s a fridge tart – you want it to be cold!

Lime and Condensed Milk Fridge Tart - #thissarahloves

Lime & Condensed Milk Fridge Tart

  • 1 packet Maria Cookies
  • 1/2 cup lime juice + 1 tbsp for sprinkling on cookies
  • 1 tbsp lime zest
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut (optional)
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 can condensed milk
  1. Layer cookies in pie plate.  Sprinkle with 1 tbsp lime juice.
  2. Sprinkle coconut over cookies (if using).
  3. Add 2 egg yolks and 1/2 cup lime juice to your mixer bowl.  Mix well.
  4. Add 1 can condensed milk & 1 tbsp lime zest to this mixture and mix until smooth.
  5. Pour over cookies – smoothing it out with a spatula if needed.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.
  7. Let cool.  Refrigerate for at least 1 hour & keep chilled.
  8. Serve cold, with whipped cream if you’re so inclined.

Do you have a favorite key lime (or faux key lime) recipe?  What about a favorite condensed milk based recipe?  If you love condensed milk, you should check out my microwave fudge recipe.

Heart Sarah

 

Linking up here:

 

9 thoughts on “Lime and Condensed Milk Fridge Tart

Leave a Reply

