Necklace Organizer Frames: Pinterest Challenge

Necklace Frames

As you probably have figured out by now, it’s Winter Pinterest Challenge time! Hosted by Sherry, Katie, Michelle, and Megan. And it’s totally not hosted or sponsored by Pinterest (although don’t you think it’s time they get in on this action?!)

Anywhoo. I had some fun with this challenge & FINALLY got a project (or two) checked off my to do list.

I was first inspired to tackle this project when Lindsey from The Pleated Poppy hosted her Jewelry Storage Made Beautiful Series. Just look at her beautiful necklace frame.

{Please pin from original source}

I pinned a bunch of other inspiration ideas too, like using pegboard, chicken wire,and even mini clipboards!

I especially loved the mini-clipboard idea but I wanted to do this on the cheap / free. So I found two old Ikea frames & some leftover fabric from when I sewed the new pillow covers for our living room. After a bit of brainstorming I decided to cover the backboard (which came with the frames) with fabric, remove the glass, & then use big round pushpins (from Target) to hold up my necklaces.

Here’s the frame I made for my statement necklaces. I don’t have nearly as many as most bloggers, but I tend to prefer simple pendants for every day. I like that there’s space to add more when I do add to my collection. I also added that gorgeous flower pin that my sister-in-law Claire makes to add some fun to the frame.

Necklace Frame - Statement Necklaces

This is what it looks like from the back (so it’s a good thing nobody {except everyone on the internet} will ever see this). I simply hot glued the fabric to the board & then carefully pushed the pins through the board. Two things that worked out well without my planning was that {1} the frame is deep enough so that the pushpins don’t reach past the frame – if you used a skinny frame the pins would get in the way of hanging it on the wall and {2} the backboard that came with the frame is firm – like super thin particle board (?) – and is not cardboard, so the pins don’t fall out easily.

Necklace Frames - Dirty Detail DIY

I also made one for my pendants & pendant necklaces. I’m pretty picky about they type and length of chain that I like to wear, which means that I have one chain that I use with most of my pendants. I realized that this means I tend to wear the pendant that’s already on the chain, instead of taking the time to switch out the pendant in the morning. I pinned up my (chain-less) pendants on the board for now, but I plan on ordering a few extra chains so that all of my pendants can be ready to go at a moment’s notice.

Necklace Frame - Pendants

I added the frames to a blank spot on the wall inside our walk-in closet. I’m hoping that now that I can actually see all the necklaces I own, I will actually rotate through them! I also have some art in there. My uncle painted this for me many years ago (and it’s been re-framed a bunch of times since) and I love it. Unfortunately Andy does not share the same level of affinity for the unicorn & fairies picture, so I try to hang it out of {his} sight. Oh and to the left of the picture is a portion of my scarf collection – I’m “organizing” them using an over-the-door towel rack. It works out well, because Andy knows where to put them when I leave them lying around the house & I can easily find the scarf I’m looking for as I run out of the house!

Closet - Scarves Art Jewelry

What do you think? Do you have a place for your necklaces? I use a ceramic egg-crate for my rings & since I don’t wear earrings, I don’t have to worry about where to put those. What do you use to organize your bracelets?

Necklace Frame - Close-up of Statements

A Blog Signature

24 thoughts on “Necklace Organizer Frames: Pinterest Challenge

  1. Pingback: 25 Creative Necklace Organization Ideas — the thinking closet

  2. You know what I love about this – is your use of fabric – I have some great storage for my jewlery, but I have some fabric with no plans… So now I need to fabric wrap *something* (surely easier than cushions right? and… I have too many cushion covers as it is!!)/

    • Thanks Jen! I have a serious crush on chevron – especially the navy and white fabric I used here! I’d love if you’d check out my new living room pillows too – I finally upgraded to all feather inserts and I LOVE them!
      Sarah

    • Thanks again Danielle! This was such a fun project. I had the idea rolling around in my head for months, so it’s such a relief to have it done & on the wall. I also really like that I did it with supplies I already had. Bonus points for not having to go to the store right?
      Sarah 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Lindsey! Your gorgeous necklace organization inspired me to get my act together. I love chevron so much – especially the navy and white – so I hope it stays popular for a little while still!
      Sarah

  3. Very cute! I’ve been thinking about making a framed jewelry organizer too! I was thinking I’d have to find a huge frame to fit all of my jewelry, but I like that you used a couple smaller ones. Love the fabric choice too! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks, so glad you like it! I like how the smaller frames turned out & I think it would look great to use more too – maybe 3 all in a row or even a square of four. Of course, Ikea does sell some enormous frames for decent prices too. Thanks for stopping by!
      Sarah

  4. These look awesome, Sarah! I love that you used the leftover chevron fabric and that this sounds so easy. 🙂 I currently hang my necklaces on one of those hangers that I think are meant for men’s ties but it works well and it’s portable. When I have my own house, I’ll mount something on the wall like you. 🙂

    • Thanks Leah! I’m so happy with how this turned out – I had seriously been contemplating how to do this for months, so I’m happy that I didn’t over-think the actual execution of it. Using the tie organizer is so smart! I love when you can re-purpose organizers to organizer other things 🙂

  5. Very cute!! I hang my necklaces on 3M hooks in my closet. It’s kind of a little jewellery corner on top of a shelf so it’s not as ugly as it sounds lol but yours is waaaaay cuter! To organize my bracelets I just use a couple of paper towel holders from the dollar store! It can be a bit of a pain to take them all off if the one I want is at the bottom, but now they’re out in the open so I can easily see what I have. Thank goodness for Pinterest!

    • Thanks Steph! I’m all for 3M hooks, but the walls in this house rejects them – they literally fall right off the wall no matter what I do. Fun times. Wonder what they painted with … I’ve thought about using paper towel holders but I can just see me dumping the whole thing on the floor to get to the bottom one & I’m not sure that Andy would think its cute when he gets home from work to a pile of bracelets on the floor! 🙂

      • lol that is a big drawback to the paper towel holder thing! Luckily Ryan and I don’t share a closet so whatever messes I make in there are mine alone to deal with! That’s weird that the 3M hooks don’t stick to your walls! I guess that just forces you to be more creative though 🙂

Leave a Reply

