Design Dilemma

Hello lovely blog readers!

On Thursday, I shared our living room in its current state.  I recently sewed new pillow covers & recovered the ottoman but unfortunately that didn’t quite transform the room in the way I hoped it would!  So now I’m sharing my “long wall dilemma” with you in the hopes that your awesome thoughts and idea will help me figure out how to make this room a little happier!Design Dilemma - Living Room Wall

 

As you can see, I pointed out some of the issues I have identified in the room.  I think the biggest one is what to do with the wall behind the sofa!  I can’t move the furniture much, as the TV is in the only spot it can be & well we like to watch TV!  Here’s a {reverse} floor plan of what our apartment looks like.  The sofa is on the living room wall across from the kitchen & the TV is on the wall between the balcony door & the dining room.

floorplan

So now I hand it over to you.  What changes would you make in the room?  I would really appreciate budget conscious suggestions, but I’d also love to hear what you would do with a more substantial budget!  Can’t wait to hear all your awesome ideas!

A Blog Signature

 

14 thoughts on “Design Dilemma

  1. The gray blue color in your ottoman is a great inspiration for a paint color for the wall behind the couch. The warm brown of the couch against the cool color of the wall will make it and the black pictures pop with visual impact. Paint the gray picture frame black to pair with the existing pictures. You could spread the two larger pictures a little further part with the smaller picture in the empty wall space above the lamp. It does leave an empty spot between the couch and sliding glass door but if you are able to remove the glass storage unit to another part of the room, you could place a potted palm or plant in that spot. Add red accent colors in a pillow or decorative art pieces (or the lamp shade) well enrich the color palette. Red gis a complimentary color and goes well with both brown and that beautiful gray blue color. The smaller red pieces
    could tie it all together.

    • Ooh good point! I think you’re totally right that there are lots of angles but not enough circles. Time to start brainstorming for more circles! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.
      Sarah

  2. First I love the neutrals you already have! That grayish blue is one of my favorites right now and I love a little does of appley green myself 🙂 What I would do is get either get another horizontal print similar in size to put on the left side or totally mix things up and do more of a gallery wall mixing your prints with some photos, throwing in an initial letter, a plate or 2, or even cool fabrics on embroidery hoops – all super cheap thrift possibilities. Then, keep the art black and white but spray paint the frames for a pop of color. For the lamp, I LOVE this http://pinterest.com/pin/9851692907015552/ for yours especially because it really plays off the chevron and other geometric shapes on your fabrics, and also a cheap solution! I actually love those glass lamps without stuff in them but jazzing up the shade would help 🙂 For the blinds, which are always the most annoying thing to change but not actually change in an apartment, if you don’t ever use them what about just opening all the way to one side, hanging a curtain rod above/in front and having long drapes? That way the blinds stay hidden but you still have something to create shade/privacy? Long answer to a short question but I hope it helps 🙂 Good luck! can’t wait to see the results!

    • Thanks for your ideas Stephanie! I LOVE the ribbon idea for the lamp – I’ve just repinned it. Now I just need to figure out how to DIY it. I think I need to play around with the wall art some more – we’ve got tons of frames around the house that I can “borrow”. I like the idea of spray painting the dark frames too – could bring in that pop of color I think the wall so desperately needs. As for the curtains, I think adding a rod over the top is the best – our windows are old and leaky, so the more layers between us and the outside the better! 🙂

  3. Don’t you just hate when walls are in awkward places? It really makes me wonder who designs these things…probably a man who didn’t take into consideration how difficult it would be to decorate and arrange furniture when your TV can really only go in one place lol I agree that you should do something fun and colourful to the lampshade. For that big long wall….that’s kind of a tough one since you can’t really center the couch on the wall, but what if you took down the small grey print and got 3 more prints the same size as the large black and white ones and just evenly spaced them all across that wall? You could even get some prints with colour in them and alternate the couloured ones with the B&W ones. That way you fill up the wall and it would have somewhat of a more streamlined look. The vertical blinds I don’t think you can remove, right? I’m assuming if it’s an apartment then they have to stay. Could you put curtains up over top of them just to cover them up when they’re open? It probably depends on how much space there is above the blinds and if it’s concrete that you’d have to drill into that probably wouldn’t work, but if you’re looking to camouflage them, mounting curtains over them may help. Good luck with whatever you decide to do in there! It’s looking good so far 🙂

  4. I love Kenley’s suggestion of filling the base of the lamp with something colorful (if possible). If you can’t fill it, maybe you could wrap (and glue) ribbon, burlap, or some other fabric over the glass. As for the pictures, perhaps you could spread out the two black framed ones and remove the gray one all together. I like the space above the cabinet to display fun momentos/pretty objects. Good luck!

    • Thanks Leah! I love the idea of filling the lamp, but I’ll have to see if I can figure out a way in! Otherwise, I love your idea if maybe covering it with some twine/rope. I’ll have to play around with some more. Long walls are hard! 🙂
      Sarah

  5. Just off the top of my head… I would move the lamp to the other side of the same table and perhaps change out the shade (or if there is some awesome pintrest project of painting, etc. lampshades). Either way the lamp could use some color. Also the base of the lamp, can you fill the glass with something? Another possible way of injecting color. If you move the lamp to the other side of the end table or at least center it, it gives a bit more ‘wall space’. I would suggest creating more space in between the two black framed pictures and putting the grey framed piece inbetween them. The grey on grey will pop more if placed above the brown couch and between the black frames. This will also provide more coverage of your ‘long wall’. Again, just the top of my head. Good luck with your changes 🙂
    Kenley

    • Ooh great ideas! Thanks Kenley! I definitely think changing up the lamp with some Pinterest ideas is the way to go with both the lamp & shade! I’ll have to play around with the art some more & see what works! 🙂
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

