Working Hard for the Money!

Desk - Overview
I’m finally (very close to being) done with the re-do of the desk area in our living room. Working from home is great & I love not being locked up in the extra bedroom, but that also means all of mess genius was in the living room for all the world to see.  So one of this month’s projects was to get it all under control!

We had a little snafu with the DIY desk top which Andy and I made – each plank bowed to a perfect arc.  Lovely.  If anyone knows what we did wrong, please let me know!  Anywhoo, that’s water under the bridge, so we picked up an inexpensive bright green desktop at Ikea.
Desk - Dresser Mirrors Art
We also grabbed this glass-front dresser to store all my papers and other office things!  That ways I can pretend to be this super neat person, because I can just pile all my papers into a drawer at the end of the day.

I’ve added some fun accessories to the top of the dresser – partly to pretty things up, and partly to minimize the surface area on which we can stick things!
Desk - Orchids Desk - Dresser Styling
Overall I think I was pretty successful at incorporating a desk area into our living room. I’ll test this theory during our Superbowl party this weekend – I plan to remove the printer and monitor and setting up either a food or a drink station on the desk.
Desk - Bright Green
The next step is to add some bar stools to the desk – to sit on while I’m working (although not ALL day!) and to use for extra seating when we’re having a party.  I picked up two of these bar stools yesterday & I plan on recovering them with some fabric that is left over form my living room pillow fabric.  Hopefully it works out as planned & I’ll have a post to share with you by Friday!

Desk - New Stools

A Blog Signature

4 thoughts on “Working Hard for the Money!

  1. I love the pop of color from the Ikea desktop and the glass front dresser is beautiful! Yay, for home remodeling. 🙂 I can’t wait to see the upholstered bar stools too. You’re so crafty, Sarah!

    • Thanks Leah! It’s been such a pleasure to come to “the office” since I’ve updated the space. And the dresser is AMAZING at helping me hide all my paper clutter. Yay!

Leave a Reply

