Christmas Stockings

aka the moment I realized our initials spell either “APS” or “SPA”.  GREAT.  At least it’s just a dog and not a kid.  Guess we should take these things into account when naming future kiddos.

Christmas Stockings Pillow AppliqueWe don’t have a chimney, or even a fireplace, so I chose to hang them on the half wall / bar in the living room.  I first put them in the dining room under the window (thinking that Santa would be able to climb through the window to get to them) but then I realized they were kind of hidden back there, so I placed them front and center.  Hey, these are HAND-MADE, I want to get to enjoy my handiwork!

I shamelessly copied Jackie from Teal and Lime‘s stocking idea.  I chose to only use initials and did not angle my cuff, but other than that her instructions got me through this!  I’d have to admit, it was easier than I thought, although making sure that each stocking layer fits well on the others is time-consuming.

Christmas Stockings Reverse Applique Close-upI got all my felt at Jo-Anns (with coupons).  The grey felt was a little more expensive than their regular felt, but I liked the color and the texture better, so I splurged a bit.  The green felt is a 20% wool felt blend and the red felt is their regular inexpensive red felt.  The light gray I used on the “JOY” pillow is also the regular inexpensive red felt (found in the remnant bin).

Christmas Stockings Reverse Applique

Are your stockings up?  Do the adults in your house getting stockings or just the kiddos / fur-babies?

I’m linking up with Dare to DIY: Deck the Halls‘ link-up.  Be sure to hop on over to check out all the awesome projects.

I’ll also be linking up here

https://i0.wp.com/tatertotsandjello.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/weekend-wrapup-button150.pnghttps://i2.wp.com/www.hypheninteriors.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/linkparty5_thumb2.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/i1229.photobucket.com/albums/ee462/creativeindex/michaela-noelle/XmasCheer2012-220x275.jpg

8 thoughts on “Christmas Stockings

Leave a Reply

