Nooks and Crannies

Today I wanted to show you some of my favorite nooks and crannies around our living room.  I’ve really been trying to create little vignettes that look more put together and less like I just dropped a ceramic animal (or other figurine) and left it there.

First up is the corner of my desk.  Since you can see it from the entry, I wanted something interesting on that corner.  I love that the texture of the lampshade goes with the texture of the picture mats.  The giraffe is a very old Pier One find that’s been painted white, and the mercury glass is a recent Goodwill find for less than $1.

Next up is the side table in the living room.  This can also be seen (at least partially) from the entryway, so it’s important that it doesn’t look messy.  I added one of my 97 cent West Elm trays to add some color and the green lamp is originally from our bedroom.  The green vase is a thrift store find (for $3) and the beaded lion was a present from Andy a few years ago.

The giraffes next to the table are a TJ Maxx find, about 5 years ago, and were one of those things that I just HAD to bring home with me.  They’ve moved around the house a bit, but in this spot they stop that corner from becoming a drop zone & I think the look good against the light colored wall.  Although now they get hit by Penelope’s fetch ball on a regular basis.  A girl just can win, can she?

The last spot I want to show you is not something I’d recommend.  The husband doesn’t like it when there’s an elephant blocking a part of the football scores…  Oh well.  The TV does look better with an elephant in front of it!  (The elephant was a gift from ZGallerie a few years ago).  The little pumpkin was another Goodwill score for about $2.  According to the stamp on the bottom it’s from Williams Sonoma.  I sort of want to arrange some flowers in it closer to Thanksgiving.

Do you have any favorite nooks and crannies around your house?

 

 

PS I link to these lovely blogs:

Leave a Reply

