Canvas Art Progress: Choosing Colors

After lots of measuring and taping and re-measuring and re-taping, here’s what I got.  I thought it might be more artsy if I left some bigger spaces at the top, rather than completing the pattern.

At this point I was still undecided as to what colors to use.  I have about half a quart of light gray, so that will definitely be in there.  I also have some blue and some dark gray.  The room has lots of green accents, so I’ve also been thinking about including that.

So I did what any sane person insane blogger would do, and I did a mock-up in Paint.  Here are some of the color options I came up with.

  1.  includes a bright green.  I think it’s a little too much.
  2. is light and dark gray at random, but I think the color options are too boring.
  3. has the full-on herringbone pattern (at the husband’s suggestion)
  4. is the herringbone pattern, but with the big spaces at the top

After consulting with my design adviser mom, this is what I came up with.

I decided that I want to use the blue that Kristen from Bliss used in her living room.  I’ve been obsessed with adding some navy into the living room every since finding Kristen’s blog. (PS Her blog is awesome, so you should definitely check it out!

One thought on “Canvas Art Progress: Choosing Colors

  1. What if you mixed some of the gray with the bright green to tone it down. I like the green added to the mix. What if you got a little bottle of the green you like at Michael’s. I just bought a bottle yesterday to make my mercury lamps in gold and it was 59 cents. Seems like that might be enough to add the green accents to you canvas.

Leave a Reply

