The Art of the Zig Zag: Canvas Art Decisions

As per my September to-do list, I want to make some art to go above my desk. I grabbed a giant canvas (36″ x 48″) at Michaels with my 40% off coupon, and plan to do something chevron / herringbone / zig zag inspired.

Here are some of my inspiration pictures:

At first I thought that I should stick to a basic white, grey, & dark grey color scheme. Then I thought that some blue (perhaps the leftover blueberry twist paint I have) would be a fun accent. Then I saw the golden tan herringbone wall (middle top picture). And I currently really love gold accents. But what color goes with gold?

I think the size and shape of ModernMidwesternHome’s parallelograms (bottom right picture) are the right shape and size (and thank goodness she gives her measurements!) But I definitely think I need a bit more color in that spot, since I’m going for art, rather than a wall treatment.

What do you think? Any favorites? Any color suggestions?

Leave a Reply

