Ooey Gooey Caramel Bits Brownies

On Saturday, I discovered caramel bits at Target.  For 99c for a bag.  They had to come home with us.  Although I probably could have eat them all right out of the bag, I thought it would be more fun to try them in a recipe.  And thus, ooey gooey caramel bits brownies were born.

I totally cheated, and used a bag of my favorite gluten free brownie mix from Trader Joes.  I mixed about half the caramel bits into the batter, and sprinkled the rest on top about halfway through the cooking time.

Here’s what I had when I pulled them out of the oven.

Look at all those delicious caramel bits!

These brownies are a little hard to slice through – the caramel bits are very chewy.  Most of my pieces aren’t exactly square by the time I’ve wrestled them out of the pan, but they’re so delicious, I don’t need them to be perfect!

Bottom line, go buy some caramel bits.  They’re delicious!

I often link to these great parties:


10 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey Caramel Bits Brownies

  1. Oh! Is that what you can do with those caramel bits?! I saw them in the store a few months ago (I don’t know how I’ve lived almost 30 years without noticing them before) and bought them. I brought them home and stared at them for a few hours before eventually deciding the best option would be to eat the entire bag by hand. So that is what I did.

    My husband helped.

    • My husband doesn’t approve of eating “ingredients” without making something with them. Hence the brownies. If I had my way, there wouldn’t have been enough bits left over to make brownies with. (I did sneak an extra handful in my mouth while baking the brownies). I also like to eat condensed milk out of the can. Another “ingredient” that is not for individual consumption. Can you tell I have a crazy sweet tooth?!? Back to the bits – I think they would be AMAZING in some home made trail mix.

Leave a Reply

