Quick Change: Updating my Thrift Store Chair

A few days ago I decided it was time to update my thrift store find chair. Here’s the chair when I brought it home.  Not bad for $5 & I loved the 70s retro feel!

I still plan on painting it sometime down the line, but I decided that since I would have to remove the seat when I painted it in any case, I might as well recover the seat with an extra piece of fabric I had in my stash. (Which you might recognize from my couch cushions – it’s Dwell Studio Dotscape in Charcoal)

All it took was a screwdriver, some pliers, and a staple gun!  The screwdriver was to removed the 4 screws that hold the seat down, and to pry the staples loose.  There was about a million staples, which was the hardest part, as they all had to be pulled out (that’s what the pliers are good for).  My fabric was JUST the right size (an extra 1/2 inch to an inch all around). I simply pulled the fabric tight and stapled it all around – working from the center of each side out.  I didn’t really plan the corners, I just tried to minimize wrinkles on the visible part of the cushion.  At this point I forgave the previous stapler (who I was cursing while removing the million staples earlier) because it did take a lot of staples to make sure everything was smooth.

All in all it took about 15 minutes for this quick change.  What do you think of the update?

I often link to these great parties!


28 thoughts on “Quick Change: Updating my Thrift Store Chair

  1. Congratulations! You’ve been featured on Handy Man, Crafty Woman’s Wicked Awesome Wednesday! Please feel free to stop by the website and pick up your button!

  2. I love this chair, and am tickled you shared at Sunday’s Best. Congrats on being featured!!!! Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration with Sunday’s Best – you helped make the party a success!

  3. Stopping by from Nifty Thrifty! First of all the chair was pretty cool before you did anything to it. I love the fabric you used, really made her one great looking retro chair who would fit in any room. My fingers are crossed you’ll share your creative inspiration tonight with Sunday’s Best – sharing is a good thing!

  4. What a knockout retro chair!! I was scrolling through MMS linky party and had to scroll back up as this really caught my eye! Love the fabric you used and that chair…gorgeous!!
    I love it non-painted too for what its worth 😉

  5. What a great find! I love the color in the fabric. It looks so clean and modern! Thanks so much for the wonderful comment on my blog…..you totally made my day 🙂

    blessings,
    karianne

  6. Awesome transformation for just a few minutes work! I often get too bogged down in the eventual transformations and forget to do the quick ones to make them less of an eyesore in the mean time =)

    • Isn’t that true! I’ve been so happy to see this chair with its new seat cover. Also, since I’d have to remove the seat to paint the chair, it really wasn’t much of a wasted effort. Thanks for your kind comment! Sarah

    • Thanks Amy! I love that fabric (perhaps a little too much). I found it for $4 a yard a while back. It was one of those deals where you had to buy everything left on the bolt, so I got about 4.5 yards. I have dining room and living room scatter cushions with this fabric & even a table cloth!

Leave a Reply

