Gluten Free Peach and Almond Torta

Last week I found a recipe for a Cherry and Almond Torta at Lattes and Leggings. It looked delicious & I knew I had to try it, but we had just eaten all our cherries. Cherries weren’t a good price at the market, so I decided to substitute peaches for the cherries.

We’ve been buying Eastern Peaches. They are super sweet, a good size, and a much cheaper than the peaches imported from California. (Good reasons to buy local right?) I also tweaked it to be gluten free.

Gluten Free Peach Almond Torta
(adapted from Lattes and Leggings’ Cherry Almond Torta recipe)

  • 2 cups peaches – roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup gluten free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Flour)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat oven to 350. Spread the peaches on the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish. (I use the same one I use for brownies). Sprinkle with the sliced almonds.

Separate eggs. In a separate bowl mix brown sugar, flour, and egg yolks. Add the milk and vanilla. Mix well. Add the baking soda directly to this mixture. In a separate container, whip the egg whites until stiff. Gently fold the egg whites into the milk mixture. Pour over the peaches.

Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool slightly. Serve warm. (I think it would go very well with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream!)

 

I often link to these great blogs!

11 thoughts on “Gluten Free Peach and Almond Torta

    • Thanks for your kind comment Myric! I would definitely recommend this dessert – it’s so easy & delicious. Thanks for the invite – I just linked up.

  1. Amazing recipe. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this and any other posts. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party. It runs from Wednesday to Sundays.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/08/tangerine-toner-and-wednesdays-adorned.html
    I hope to see you there. I am your newest follower, and I would love for your to follow me also. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

    • Hi Debi! Thanks for the kind comment and the invite. I just found your comment in spam (guess my spam filter is a little over zealous!). I’ll be stopping by your blog in a moment.

Leave a Reply

