Start the car, start the car!

Have you guys seen this ad?  It’s a few years old, but I still love it!  It’s how I feel whenever I get a great deal at a store.

And this is exactly how I felt yesterday, when I made a quick stop at West Elm.  I was actually stopping by to look at these beautiful art pieces from South Africa.  I thought the “mountains” one in orange would be my favorite, but I fell hard for the “windmill” piece (top right).  These are still on my wishlist (my birthday is coming up you know…) but I left the store without one because I hit the jackpot in the clearance section.

I wandered over to the back corner, not really expecting to find much (as per usual).  Instead I found a treasure trove of super clearance items, and I simply could not contain myself!  If you follow me on Instagram, you might have spotted these pictures.

The first is of the 5 gorgeous frames I scored for $4.95 each.  Yup, you read that right. Less than $5 a frame!  Insane I know.  The second picture cost less than $10 in total!  That’s right two of their lacquer trays (97 cents each), two blue and white vases (97 cents each), one blue-gray pen organizer ($1.97) and one cool blue glass vase ($1.97).  Yup, that’s right, more than $400 in awesome West Elm loot for less than 10% of the retail price.  Now you understand why I felt like yelling “start the car, start the car,” right?!?

For the sake of full disclosure, you should know that the lacquer items all have some nicks and chips.  Everything else is in pristine condition, including those gorgeous frames!  I look forward to sharing some detail shots with you, once these items find their home in our home!

P.S.  I didn’t receive any compensation or perks for writing about West Elm. In fact they have no clue who I am.  I just love their stuff and happen to walk into the store at the exact right time yesterday.

3 thoughts on “Start the car, start the car!

  1. Ya you are lucky to have a West Elm close by. I’ve heard that all of their deals are in store not online. There’s rumor that we are getting a Hobby Lobby and I’m so excited. I’ve never even been in one 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s very nice to have a West Elm nearby. Although World Market is quite a trek & I still don’t have a Hobby Lobby or an Ikea nearby. You win some, you lose some, right?

Leave a Reply

