Picture Perfect

Another item checked off my July to-do list!

I saw these massive black and white photographs on Pinterest and it seemed like  a great fit for the spot above our couch.

So off to Staples I went Staples.com I went, and ordered two 24″ x 36″ prints of two favorite pictures from out trip to South Africa last year.  I got to pick them up about 2 days later (I was NOT about to pay $5 for “rush” printing, when my total was less than $7 for the two prints!).  I got them home, and they looked AWFUL.  Just terrible.  I didn’t even think to take pictures.  The one picture was almost entirely black with a lot of weird shadowing and a line running down the middle of the picture.  The second picture looked a little better, but also had some shadowing and a toner line.  I consulted Andy and back to Staples we went to request either a refund or a reprint.  The manager at the copying and printing center was very helpful and immediately reprinted the pictures without any of the printing quality issues we had on the previous run.  So 5 points to Staples for correcting their mistake.

Here are the pictures, as they looked after I converted them to black and white in Photoshop.

Unlike the Pinterest inspiration folks, I did not adhere these prints to foam board, because I was looking for a more finished look.  Instead I got some poster frames and framed my two prints.  Here they are:

And here they are in the living room:

The prints definitely lost some detail, since Engineering prints are black and white (not high quality gray scale), but overall I love the look and you certainly can’t beat the price!

Here’s a side by side comparison of what it looked like back in June.

The white rattan love seat is now out on the patio (although it will probably be brought back in during the winter).  The bookshelf has receive a little bit of styling.  The nightstand has been replaced by a new TV unit and the couch scatter cushions have finally been updated. Overall I think we’ve made some good progress.

Linking up at:

2 thoughts on “Picture Perfect

  1. Pingback: Retro Stereo Cabinet Makeover | This Sarah Loves

Leave a Reply

