Guest Ready

We had guests arrive this morning!  Hi parents!  To prepare for their arrival, I’ve tried to make the guest room a more inviting space.  We don’t have a headboard in that room (yet)  so I wanted to bring in some color with some fun pillow cases on king size pillows.

I found some fun yellow chevron fabric last week and dug some navy polka dot fabric out of my stash.  To keep it fun, and allow for an easy change-up, I made dual sided pillow cases.  To stop my OCD sense from tingling, I created a fold over flap on both sides.  That way if the navy side is in front, you can fold the navy flap over and when the yellow side is in front, you simply use the yellow flap.  (I can do a clarifying post on this if anyone cares). Here are the two fabrics in action:

And here’s how the room looks with the large pillows in place:

Which look do you prefer?

Next week I’ll share more room details, including what art we hung above the bed!

5 thoughts on “Guest Ready

  1. Hi! Thanks for stopping my blog today…and for making me feel less like a dumpster diver 🙂 Love the combo of yellow and navy, I just did my girls’ playroom in the same colors (photos to come on the blog in the next week or two!). Do you have any more of the yellow or navy fabrics left? I’m thinking the bed would look great with both patterns, the yellow chevron and the navy dot, showing at the same time. Maybe you could make a couple smaller ones and layer them? Just a thought. I love lots of pattern and texture in bedding pillows.

    • Ooh, I can’t wait to see your girls’ playroom! I DO have some of each fabric left over. I love the idea of doing some scatter cushions in the same fabrics! Thanks for the suggestion. It’s on my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

